My Overkill

Off work again today.

Scrubs is a dependable and (bitter)sweet treat… so… I started watching it from the beginning yesterday. This show has a unique ability to make me laugh out loud in one minute and open the flood gates the next, so its effectiveness as laughter therapy is debatable. I feel good watching it though, so who cares right?

I’d almost forgotten about Season 2’s first episode where Men at Work’s Colin Hay haunts J.D. around Sacred Heart, performing a remake of  “Overkill”. I love J.D.’s freaked out reactions to Colin turning up pretty much everywhere.

The first time I heard it, I really liked the song and started listening to a bit more of Colin Hay because of it – discovering some really great stuff along the way (Beautiful World, My Brilliant Feat, I just can’t get over you, etc…).

At the time, I hadn’t really thought about the lyrics more than superficially. But this time, I had to listen to it several times because they are mirroring my life so perfectly right now.

Here’s the Scrubs sequence featuring Colin Hay in the Series opener (unfortunately, YouTube said that embedding has been disabled for this video, so you may not see it – here is the link anyway):

3 thoughts on “My Overkill

    1. Thanks for sticking with me Yordie 🙂 If you don’t watch the show, I really recommend it. It’s beautifully written and actually quite deep for a sitcom. Hugs to you too!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.