Hay Fever

One of the more natural ways I could deal with my hay fever symptoms...
One of the best things about Second Life is the complete absence of airborne pollen…

When it comes to pharmaceuticals, I just say “no” to drugs. Most of the medicine to be found in my flat, is in my fridge in the form of vegetables, thank you very much.

Aside from the occasional Panadol, however, there is only one condition that I find so supremely irritating, so monumentally bothersome, that my typically fervent resistance to using OTC or prescription drugs buckles under the pressure.

Hello summer… hello hay fever! I get it bad. Itchy eyes? Runny nose? Sneezing? Fuzzy thinking?  Post-nasal drip? Where do I tick “all of the above”? How often have I asked anyone in ear shot, waving my fist in the air, “Honestly, how can I be allergic to June??”

Short of jabs, last year I hit the apex of the OTC antihistamine pyramid – the dreaded nasal spray. Yeah, I was routinely air-pumping antihistamines, that gourmet choice of drugs linked with all types of cancer tumours, like a geyser up my nasal passages to be no doubt innocently absorbed by nearly every tissue in my body, including my brain.

This year, however, I decided that enough is enough. So, I’m arming myself with a natural cocktail of herbs, vitamins, oils and super foods, all containing antihistamine properties. Today’s visit to Neal’s Yard Remedies included:

  • Juniper, Eucalyptus and Cypress essential oils (to use in my aromatherapy burner and the occasional steam bowl)
  • Bee pollen (who knew that the stuff I thought caused all my issues actually builds up your natural immunity when taken orally?)
  • Organic Summer Tea – a blend of Eyebright and Nettle, Elderflower and Peppermint
  • Quercetin B5 Complex –  indicated in almost all inflammatory and allergic conditions

And to that lot, I’ll be

  • triple dosing of Vitamin C (yep, even more than my usual 1500 grams/day – you literally can never get enough C)
  • double-dosing on Echinacea forte, now 1520 grams per day for general immunity support (who knows if this will work, but it’s worth a go, and certainly can’t hurt)

So here goes, me against June. Wish me luck!

8 thoughts on “Hay Fever

  1. Those are great suggestions.

    I’ve found that following some of the recommendations in Chinese Medicine for the five seasons, especially dietary ones, have helped my spring allergies. There are simple things one can do such as stay out of the wind when possible and protecting the back of the head from chill among other things.

    Like

    1. Yes, you’re right. I notice my symptoms increase dramatically on windy days. I’d never heard of protecting myself from chills, but it’s certainly more comfortable so why not? I’ve known about the many benefits associated with Chinese Medicine for a while now, but to be honest, haven’t really gone past having a little shiatsu (I think that might be Japanese, but hell it feels great anyway). Thanks for the advice.

      Like

  2. Upping the C dose can’t hurt at all, and anecdotally I’ve heard adding Grapefruit to a morning cocktail lemon & honey isn’t a bad idea for hay fever either.

    Bee pollen is a fascinating remedy, and I’ll be interested to hear if it helps.

    Like

    1. That sounds reasonable, and grapefruit sounds like a terrific addition to the lemon juice. Yes, I’ve heard honey can help (I guess it’s like the bee pollen that way) but I’ve swapped over to agave nectar over honey, because of the higher sweetness (requiring less nectar when compared to honey) and the lower GI. I’ll keep you posted on the bee pollen for sure! Although, I think that it might work better if it was locally sourced… I might need to look into that a bit further. I hear there are beekeepers on some rooftops of London!

      Like

      1. Interestingly, I was speaking to a friend today who has only in the last couple of years started to suffer from hay fever. His theory is that the decline of the numbers of bees is leading to a evolutionary change in trees to compensate 🙂

        Like

  3. Yay “no to drugs” 😀 I just wrote about my hayfever too (http://bmhonline.wordpress.com/2013/06/06/hayfever-2013/) – runny nose, itchy eyes… yeah I can get all that. I go completely drug-free now as I outline in my post, although one year a few years ago the symptoms got so bad my asthma kicked in too and I had to resort to taking a puff on a family member’s old and out-of-date inhaler, but as of last year I think I’ve got it sorted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

