A post I’ve written about the risks facing Hosoi Ichiba. We need to start acting to save this precious example of virtual culture now, before it’s too late.

I Rez Therefore I Am

The idiom “God (is) in the detail(s)” expresses the idea that whatever one does should be done thoroughly; i.e. details are important. Hosoi Ichiba might just be one of the best manifestations of that idiom that can be found in Second Life. I have yet to meet Amiryu Hosoi, but I have been impressed and touched by her work for some time. It was, therefore, with considerable surprise and sadness that I first read about her decision to close the Hosoi Cluster as a result of recent financial losses. These 4 sims cost $1200 USD in monthly tier costs to maintain; all of which has been covered by product sales from its market, until now.

I was first introduced to the Hosoi Cluster when I saw this image of Japan Chubu taken by our mutual friend Yordie Sands, who I initially met as a blogger, and who then became…

View original post 1,296 more words

Leave a Reply

