Somebody that I used to know

Don’t get the wrong idea with this post. Yes, usually, my posts are pretty immediately reflective of how I’m feeling at the present moment. And on that note, I’m finding this outlet amazingly cathartic. It’s serving a wonderful purpose, like a pressure valve that I open from time to time, allowing the steam to escape what sometimes feels like a pressure cooker in my head.

So, on to the topic! I’m not bitter, really. I’m actually in a pretty healthy headspace at the moment (may it last!). Things, for the most part, are working out on a variety of levels. Work is moving in the right direction, my friends are happy, and I’ve even started seeing someone who I’m actually quite excited about. And, while I’ve hit the lowest of lows in the past few weeks, I’m happy to say that I’m feeling more optimistic, and starting to look positively ahead to what the future may bring.

I did, however, want to share a song with you here that I cannot seem to get away from at the moment. I hear it – all the time! And I’m not alone. A few weeks ago, I shared it with Purdie, who also hadn’t heard it before. And now, it’s pulsing through our reticular activating system like a lighthouse beacon! It’s pretty much everywhere I turn. Luckily, I love the song. Luckier still, it was covered by an amazing little band that, in my opinion, outperformed the original. How cool is that?

To me, this song is message to all of the friends / lovers you’ve ever had the pleasure to know. Who, for one reason or another, either rapidly eject themselves or gradually drift out of your life. And how, all too often, whether it’s to avoid the effort of adapting to a new reality between you, decide quite unilaterally to simply cut you out.

In spanish, when you say you want to de-friend someone, you use the verb ‘borrar”. Borrar, effectively means, to delete, to rub out, to erase. Like many spanish examples, it’s an especially brutal way to put it. Strangely though, it feels more apt than the typical and more abstractly technical “defriend” or even “mute”. Here are some of the other words we could use to really appreciate how this might feel …

  • delete
  • erase
  • wipe out
  • obliterate
  • efface
  • expunge
  • destroy
  • rub out
  • scratch
  • write off
  • strike out
  • scratch out
  • cross out
  • strike off
  • expurgate
  • write away

So, to all of you who chosen to cut me out, as easily as you might flip your pencil in your fingers and write off my name from the existence of your experience, this one is for you.

5 thoughts on “Somebody that I used to know

  1. Too freaking right… Up their ziggy with a wahwah brush!

    Thank YOU for sharing this magical band I’m addicted to them.

    And congratulations to that special someone on your life… You totally deserve them.

    Like

  2. Great posting! I have been deleted numerous time the last year by the same person so im familiar with the expression :O)

    And I do like your description of blogging; “I’m finding this outlet amazingly cathartic. It’s serving a wonderful purpose, like a pressure valve that I open from time to time, allowing the steam to escape what sometimes feels like a pressure cooker in my head.”

    Take care and have fun!

    Like

    1. And, to be fair, I’ve even done some of the deleting 😦 But, I’m much more conscious of it now, and will think twice in the future. Thanks for reading and your lovely kind words.

      Like

      1. Yesh me too. I also deleted “friends” that I havent had any contact with in a long time. But im sure they didnt even noticed 🙂 Still i will be a lot more careful about my friendlist from now on….

        Like

Leave a Reply

