1 minute and 52 seconds of desperate hopefulness

Georges Seurat - Un dimanche apres midi sur le Grande Jatte - 1885

I heard an old melancholy favourite off a friend’s randomised iPod playlist this morning – the often covered Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want.

Discovering The Smiths much later, I think, than pretty much everyone else on the planet, the first time I ever remember hearing a version of this song was while watching Ferris Beuller’s Day Off – another 80’s classic.

Then, I remembered watching this film with one of my oldest SL friends over a year ago, both of us commenting on every scene as we watched. I remember us anticipating the renegade parking attendant scene, laughing out loud at Ed Rooney’s bungled breaking and entering, and getting seriously emotional (well, me at least! he surely would deny all allegations!) when Cameron faces the impressionist reflection of his inner self in the Suerat’s “Un dimanche après-midi à l’Île de la Grande Jatte”.

When commenting on the Art Gallery scene, the late (and great) director John Hughes said:

” the closer he looks at the child, the less he sees. But the more he looks at, there’s nothing there. I think he fears that the more you look at him the less you see. There isn’t anything there. That’s him”

For your viewing and listening pleasure, here is this beautiful scene filmed in the Art Institute of Chicago accompanied by an instrumental version of Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want.

And, simply because it’s just so freakishly awesome, here’s the original 1 minute and 52 seconds of desperate hopefulness first released in 1984(!)

7 thoughts on “1 minute and 52 seconds of desperate hopefulness

  1. Hi this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or
    if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

  2. We’re a gaggle of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site offered us with useful info to work on. You have performed an impressive task and our whole neighborhood will probably be thankful
    to you.

    Like

  3. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of
    this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb
    usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done a fantastic job with
    this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Safari.
    Outstanding Blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

